Kamakhya Temple, Guwahati – A Tranquilized Place for Solace

It was the first day of my stay in Guwahati, Assam. I wanted to start off with my stay in Assam with the blessings of God. Therefore, I and my whole family, including my wife and children decided to make a visit to the famous Kamakhya temple in Guwahati. Located in the Nilachal Hills in the western end of the state of Assam, the temple is strategically located at just 8 kilometers from the Guwahati railway station. So it was not much difficult to locate the temple. Moreover, I had hired a cab for that day for easy transport and communication.

Kamakhya Temple Guwahati

Kamakhya Temple Guwahati | Image Resource : alltouristattractions.org

The Kamakhya temple is dedicated to Maa Durga who is also known as Goddess Sati in a different incarnation. The temple is also called as ‘51-yogini peetha’. One of the most unique temples of the country, it observes a famous festival called ‘Ambubachi’ every year. During this period, the Goddess is said to undergo her menstrual cycle.

The temple’s history dates back to the existence of Emperor Samudragupta in the 15th century. It is also collected from few facts that the temple was reestablished in the year 1665 by King Naranarayan. The structure of the temple has an entrance porch from where people can move into the partially lighted sanctum sanctorum. In the main temple one can observe seven oval spires which are capped by three golden spheres. The entire temple is divided into two parts, namely, mandapas and gharbhagriha. While there are three mandaps, there is one garbhagriha. One can reach at the garbhagriha by following a steep narrow and dark path. There is a depression at the end of the dark panel where water is filled continuously all round the year through underground perennial stream.

The images of different Gods and Goddesses are carved on the walls of the temple. In the center, the image of the Goddess is placed along with several other incarnations. Also I could see a subterranean pool in the temple vicinity where pilgrims can take a bath which is said to wash off their sins. Every year large number of pilgrims travels to Guwahati just to have a glimpse of the Goddess. I was truly contented with the visit there and so were my children.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment