Johna Falls, Ranchi – A Spectacular View in the City

I am a lover of nature and therefore I love visiting those places which contain some natural significance. So far my stay in Ranchi was awesome and I had enjoyed every inch of the city to the fullest core of my heart. It was the sixth day in Ranchi and I was expecting more from the city with each passing day. Not only I was impressed with the beauty of Ranchi, but also my wife and my two children were amused and had already spent a wonderful time there. So on the sixth day I wanted to pay a visit to the Johna Falls of Ranchi which are well known for the beauty and milky white falls falling from the cliff and splashing water everywhere. The distance of the Johna Falls from Ranchi is about 40 kilometers. For covering such a long distance there was the requirement of a convenient vehicle with good service. Therefore I booked an air conditioned cab from the local travels which drove us to our destination.

Johna Falls Ranchi

Johna Falls Ranchi | Image Resource : indiantravels.com

The Johna Falls are also known as Gautamdhara Falls and are located in the edge of Ranchi plateau. The water fall start from a height of 43 meters and therefore one has to come along a way of more than 700 steps to enjoy the environment near and around the falls. Apart from the waterfalls, there is the shrine of Lord Buddha on the top of the mountain. People come here to offer their prayers to Lord Buddha. Every Tuesdays and Saturdays, one can enjoy fairs in the shrines. Luckily, we were there on a Tuesday morning and therefore we could also catch a glimpse of the fair which was held on that day.

Johna Falls Ranchi

Johna Falls Ranchi | Image Resource : panoramio.com

The historic belief behind the Gautamdhara Falls is that it is said that Gautam Buddha used to bathe in the falls and therefore a temple dedicated to the Lord is built there. The temple was built by Raja Baldevdas Birla. The stream of Johna Falls come from the River Ganga, and hencethe place is also known as Ganga Nala. The nearby villages increase the charm of the place and the entire view resembles as a hill station. There are certain restaurants on the top which serve good food to satiate the soul.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on April 4, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment