Dudhsagar Falls- The Thrill of Picnicking Amidst the Gushing Waters

The Shanta Druga temple in Goa is one of the most peaceful and spiritual holy shrines i had ever visited. We all felt spiritually uplifted and rejuvenated at the temple. Carrying that entire positive aura along with us we headed towards the next destination that we were about to visit. I love spending time in the arms of nature. It offers me refuge from my hectic schedule and spares time to spend with my loved family.

The Dudhsagar falls is a prominent place of tourist interest in Goa. Nature lovers from all parts of the country visit this place of immense scenic beauty to seek refuge from their hectic urban life. The sound of the gushing water falling from such prodigious heights on the foot of the hills offers a perfect setting for nature enthusiasts. Both my kids were enthralled to visit this beautiful scene.

Dudhsagar falls is during monsoons

Dudhsagar falls is during monsoons | Image Resource : nipunscorp.com

The best time to visit the Dudhsagar falls is during monsoons when the waterfall is in its full might. This splendid waterfall lies in the Sanguem taluka in Goa. The slight of so much volume of water pouring down with its full fury from a height of approximately 600 metres is spectacular and spine chilling. The pristine environs comprising of tropical vegetation that enfold the waterfalls add to its charm and beauty.

The foam that is formed at the toe of the waterfall appears like milk; hence the name suggests Dudhsagar i.e. ‘sea of milk’. Thousands of picnickers and foreigners as well flock towards this majestic waterfall every year to drown themselves in the beauty of this breath taking scene.

The Dudhsagar falls via rail route that connects Vasco to Margao

The Dudhsagar falls via rail route that connects Vasco to Margao | Image Resource : youtube.com/watch?v=K81bQhweBMA

There are also a number of private companies that offer special trips to the Dudhsagar waterfall. The Goa Tourism Development Corporation also works for the maintenance of this natural heritage of the state. The site is easily accessible via public transport. You can also reach the Dudhsagar falls via rail route that connects Vasco to Margao. My kids especially had a day full of fun and frolic taking dips in the pools that lie in the vicinity of the waterfall. The pools are safe to swim in bt it is advisable not to go too close to the foot of the waterfall.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on October 17, 2015, in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

