Gurudwara Bangla Sahib – The Residence Of Eternal Peace

One of the most prominent shrine destinations of Sikh in the national capital Delhi is the Bangla Sahib Gurudwara. The Gurudwara is hardly a 13 km distance from the airport and can be reached within time duration of 30 minutes. You can also prefer to take a metro. Being a meditation freak, visiting this Sikh house of worship gave me immense gratification. There is a small pool inside the Gurudwara which is popularly called Sarovar.

Sarovar at Gurudwara Bangla Sahib

Sarovar at Gurudwara Bangla Sahib | Image Resource : wikipedia.org

Bangla Sahib Gurudwara holds significance because of its association with the eighth Sikh Guru, Guru Har Kishan. This pilgrimage centre, originally built as a temple is located in one of the most crowded areas of the city, Connaught Place. The construction of this Gurudwara started back in the Mughal Era in 1783 during the rule of Shah Alam 2. Sardar Bhagel Singh, a Sikh general, looked over the architectural development of this place. I couldn’t hold my ecstasy on capturing the grand construction of this dazzling Gurudwara in my camera.

Standing in the Baba Kharak Singh Marg, this Gurudwara can be recognised from far because of its shining golden dome and sky-high flag pole, known as Nishan Sahib. I consider me and my family lucky as we have had the privilege of visiting this enthralling place during the birth anniversary of Guru Har Krishan and could thus, witness the grand congregation that gathers every year.

Gurudwara Bangla Sahib

Gurudwara Bangla Sahib | Image Resource : wikipedia.org

On envisaging around the perimeters of Bangla Sahib, we found that apart from the main temple, the Gurudwara also has a kitchen, an art gallery and a school of its own. I along with my wife helped the guru Sikhs in preparing the Langar and it was truly a feeling that is beyond explanation. It was a treat to see people working voluntarily in the Gurudwara not only in the kitchen by also in works like shoe-minding. There were accommodation facilities available in a large number around Bangla Sahib. The enchanting live kirtan of Gurudwara Bangla Sahib is spellbinding.

Visiting this place was a delight and an experience we will cherish forever. Gurudwara Bangla Sahib is a worth visiting place in Delhi.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on September 14, 2015, in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

