National Museum-A Glimpse Into Our Ancient History And Culture

This trip to New Delhi was enriching. I gathered lots of experience and memories. One of the memories that I would cherish is the visit to National Museum, New Delhi. This museum that was established in the year 1949 is one of the largest museums in the country. This museum is situated at Janpath Road, New Delhi and is a house to numerous artifacts as well as prehistoric artworks. It has around 200,000 works of art, some of which as old as 5000 years.

National Museum New Delhi

National Museum New Delhi | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

As I walked into the museum, I was astounded to see the two-floor building constructed very skillfully.  The building has a rotunda around on which the structure is based. As I walked further, I came to know that the first Prime Minister of India laid the foundation stone of the building. The building was officially opened for general public in the year 1960. As I walked into the museum, I could find that the museum had more than ten different sections. Some of which were the Manuscript section, Ancient Jewelleries, etc.

Harappan Gallery

Harappan Gallery | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Maurya and Shunghas Section

Maurya and Shunghas Section | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Moving further across  I found some of the artifacts of the Harrapan civilization. I was surprised to find how skilled and advanced our ancestors were. The entire Harappan section displayed some of the world class pottery and carvings. Moving further I discovered the Maurya and Shunghas section and what especially came to my attention was that Buddha was never shown in any physical form. Instead, he was depicted in symbols like Bodhi tree, etc.

Early Medieval Artefacts

Early Medieval Artefacts | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

There were different sections of the medieval as well as pre-medieval periods. Then there were the decorative sections followed by the miniature painting gallery. The next section that brought interest was the section depicting the transformation of Indian Scripts and coins. Some of the best-carved coins of the Gupta dynasty were present here. Then there was the central Asian gallery that depicted artifacts collected by an explorer named Sir Auren Stein. This place provided me a great learning experience as well as helped me feel proud of the greatness of our ancestors.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on September 4, 2015, in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

