Humayun’s Tomb- A Reminder Of Our Ancient Culture and Traditions

As I had a chance to visit the capital of India, I got the opportunity to experience and witness some of our ancient culture and traditions. One such ancient monument that I visited was the Humayun’s Tomb. Located on the Mathura Road in New Delhi, the place has been constructed exceptionally well and every little detail has been taken care of. The place that has been constructed with red marbles and white sandstone looks very appealing as sunlight falls on it. The monument comprises of a combination of Persian and Islamic style of architecture.

Entrance Humayuns Tomb

Entrance Humayuns Tomb | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

As I walked towards this monument, I got the chance to experience the greenery all around. Amongst these gardens also known as the Char Bagh, was situated the Humayun’s Tomb. The tomb was built in about 8 years.  Upon reading the facts inscribed on the stones as well asking some of the guides, I found that upon his death Humayun was first buried in the purana quila and then his body was shifted here upon the orders of his first wife Bega Begum.

The exterior arch of Humayuns Tomb

The exterior arch of Humayuns Tomb | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The tomb has two double storeyed entryways in  the west as well as south, which rise to a height of 16 metres although the original height of the structure is somewhat around 47 metres and has a 6 metre high brass finial ending in a crescent. The interiors of the tomb are outstanding as it is designed in sharp contrast to the simple designed exterior.

Humayuns Tomb Delhi

Humayuns Tomb Delhi | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The main chamber of the tomb  carries a symbolic design known as the ‘Mihrab’ which faces the Mecca in the west.  As I moved out, long spread lawns provided a clean and fresh atmosphere. These Char Baghs are spread over 30 acres in a quadrilateral layout. The entire tomb is surrounded by the high rubble walls on its three sides while the fourth one was supposed to be covered by the river Yamuna. The place symbolises love and dedication that a wife had for her husband. This tomb apart from Humayun consists of the grave of his wife too. The place stands tall as a symbol of love and dedication.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on August 25, 2015, in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

