Lotus Temple Delhi- A Place of Purity As Well As Serenity

Now, it was time to visit the temple of all religions- The Lotus Temple. I finally took a cab to this well-known temple of India. As I reached the location with my family, I was astounded to see the magnificence as well as the beauty of this Bahai temple. Upon entering, I saw the history of this temple inscribed on a stone. Reading it, I came to know that this temple had been constructed in the year 1986 by the Bahai community.

view of lotus temple

Lotus Temple | Image Resource: paryatak.com

The Bahai community is one of the prominent communities that funded the building of this great architectural structure. It is built by one of the Iranian architects named Fariborz Sahba. The temple due to its magnificence and beauty attracts more than 70 million tourists worldwide. The monument is constructed in the shape of Lotus, with 27 independent petal shaped marbles. As I entered the monument, I was surprised to see that there were no pictures or photos as one would expect upon entering the temple. It turned out to be a place where one can go sit quietly and chant or worship any god that one believes in.

landscape view of lotus temple

 Lotus Temple Delhi | Image Resource: scoopwhoop.com

This turned out to be quite an interesting place for me as there were no restrictions or rather let’s say there were no denominational restrictions on worshiping any god. One could give music to their prayers through choirs, but the place has strict regulations with regard to any religious rituals being practiced inside the temple. On the outside of the temple, there is a small lake, which is also known as the wishing lake. Local visitors told me that it was believed any wish made by dropping a coin into the lake was sure to come true.

aerial view of lotus temple

Aerial View of Lotus Temple | Image Resource: worldtoptop.com

The Lotus Temple in New Delhi has received numerous awards on account of its architectural magnificence. Sitting in the temple for nearly half an hour brought me much peace and provided the much-required break from the hustle and bustle of cities. My kids enjoyed the visit and helped them realize the importance of secularism and all the religions.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on August 20, 2015, in Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

