A Journey To Dilwallo Ki Dilli : Kolkata To New Delhi!

Delhi, the capital city of our extremely vivid country which somehow packs in the capability of withholding the expectations of an entire nation is always a treat to visit. The heart of India, as it is most fondly referred to, is the perfect blend of modernization and antiquity. Where on one side it has many destinations that come up with the highest level of sophistication and modernity, it also has the old Delhi which in itself is history personified. One can admire the well planned and constructed Janpath but at the same time the journey is not complete without admiring the rusty by-lanes of Chandni Chowk.

While we waited for boarding our flight from Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Airport, Kolkata, I, Debanjan Basu, was busy thinking and speculating the ecstatic experience we were going to be a part of. Our flight with SpiceJet Airways was on time. It’s usually my preferred airline because of affordable ticket prices and impeccable quality of service.

SpiceJet Airways

SpiceJet Airways | Image Resource : delhidailynews.com

After security checks and regular check procedures, we were on board the flight. We had just embarked for a 1500 km journey through the Indian mainland. While the flight attendants were busy settling the passengers on their respective seats before takeoff, I looked around and pondered about the days when air travel was something of a high-club activity with only an exclusive elite having access to it.

Ever since the onset of budget air carriers, this trend has changed, and people have started to consider air transport as a viable option for transport. Ours was a nonstop flight from Kolkata to Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi. Once the plane was off the ground, I decided to retake a brief look at the itinerary of this trip to the national capital city. Eventually, I dozed off in the process.

Indira Gandhi International Airport

Indira Gandhi International Airport | Image Resource : messefrankfurt.com

I woke up by the end of our comfortable 2 hour flight. As our Kolkata-New Delhi flight taxied through the domestic terminal of IGI, I recollected my thoughts and braced myself for the overall extravaganza of the trip which has just completed its first stage. So here I was in ‘Dilwallo ki Dilli’ and excited for the upcoming fun.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on August 3, 2015, in Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

