Sheshnag Lake Kashmir- Ancient Pilgrimage Site

The final destination on our list was the Sheshnag Lake Kashmir. We were felling a bit sad due to the fact that our trip was coming to an end. But at the same time, I was happy that I could spend some unforgettable moments with my family members. The Sheshnag Lake was located on the way to Amarnath from Pahalgam at a distance of 23km from the latter.

My wife wanted to visit the Amarnath cave since we were so close to the religious spot. But there was no use of going to the cave now since the holy natural shrine is formed only during the months of July and August. Moreover, it was already getting dark since we had spent a lot of time in Pahalgam. So we decided to return back from the lake.

Sheshnag Lake Kashmir

Sheshnag Lake Kashmir | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The word Seshnag stands for the king of snakes and it is believed that he himself had dug the lake. Many people believe that the king can be still found inside the lake. While most of the people visit the lake during Amarnath Yatra, others trek up specially to view the lake. People going on the Yatra definitely take out time to worship this lake and view its clear water. It is oligotrophic in nature and is situated at a height of around 3,500m above sea level. We learnt that a wide range of fishes can be easily found in the lake with the most famous one being the brown trout.

The water in the lake was completely fresh as it comes from the streams flowing down the mountain tops and water formed by the melting of snow. While some people believe that Sheshnag appears with five heads, others believe that they have seven heads. But according to Hindus, the king has seven heads due to the presence of seven mountains surrounding the lake. It is said to amongst the oldest pilgrimage spots in India and is witness to hundreds of devotees almost every year. We returned to the hotel at around 8pm and packed our bags as we had to catch our return flight early morning the next day.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on July 25, 2015, in Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

