Deekshabhoomi Nagpur – Find the True Meaning of Relaxation Here

Deekshabhoomi Nagpur is an excellent place to find solace for tourists. Situated in Nagpur, Maharashtra it is a sacred monument for Buddhism. Conversion of Babasaheb Ambedkar to Buddhism is celebrated here as Ashok Vijay Dashmi. This well maintained place marks a prominent day in the flourishing of Buddhism in India.

Deekshabhoomi Nagpur

Deekshabhoomi Nagpur | Image Resource : maharashtratourism.travel

Ambedkar declared in his speech that he was born as a Hindu but he will not die as one. He selected Nagpur for his conversion ceremony as he explained in his speech that, Nagpur was the homeland of Nag people who embraced Buddhism and supported it with great efforts. For this reason, there is a stupa at that place of monument, which symbolizes the transformation of Ambedkar and prospering of Buddhism in India.

With my journey to Nagpur, I came to know about many historical facts. The stupa of Deekshabhoomi is based upon the architecture of the renowned Stupa of Sanchi. However, unlike Stupa of Sanchi, Stupa of Deekshabhoomi is hollow from inside. When I moved along I came to see the idol of Buddha placed in there. The quiet place inside the stupa was very calming.

The power of stupa made me relaxed and showed a sacred side of the world. While my chatting with the local people I came to know that the Thai student donated the idol who were studying in the University of Nagpur. The library and the picture exhibition revealed the life of Gautama Buddha. The picture exhibition also portrays the life and the works of Ambedkar. On all the four directions of the dome there are fountains placed adding the serene beauty to the holy place. With the fountains there are also statues of horses and elephants. A sacred tree known as Bodhi tree is also situated near Deekshabhoomi.

Deekshabhoomi Nagpur is one of the important places for the growth of Buddhism religion in India. The undisturbed side of nature is revealed there. I wish to stay there for some more time but it was getting late and I had to reach my hotel to get some energy so that I can go onto my destination at Tadoba national park also located in Nagpur.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on February 19, 2015, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

