Achanakmar Sanctuary, Chhattisgarh – Wildlife and More…

It was the very first day of our stay in Raipur. Being a denizen of West Bengal, Chhattisgarh happens to be a neighboring state and it was for the first time I had visited Chhattisgarh with family. As I was thrilled to have finally reached the state, my children and wife were also equally happy. Wildlife always had a special part in my heart. I love to go on outing amidst the nature and love it more when the slice of nature adds its natural spices to the journey. It was the day one in Raipur, the capital of Chhattisgarh and finally, we decided to kick start the trip with a visit to the Achanakmar Sanctuary in the state. I was as always ready with my camera to capture the best shots in the sanctuary for fond memories.

Achanakmar Sanctuary Chhattisgarh

Achanakmar Sanctuary Chhattisgarh | Image Resource : blogspot.com

The Achanakmar Sanctuary was established in the year 1975 and it is known as the largest preservation center for tigers, which as we all know are on the verge of extinction. First of all, the only thought that the wildlife sanctuary works for the conservation of our national animal makes it one of the best places in the country to be visited.

Apart from tigers, the sanctuary is also known for several other animals such as leopards and wild bison. Bengal tigers are also protected here. Indian muntjac, sloth bear, striped hyena, black buck, wild boar, four-horned antelope, nilgai, chinkara and sambar are the other animals that are usually spotted in the sanctuary.

We hired a jeep that took us for a round trip within the sanctuary. Wild buffalos, peacocks, sambar, deer, monkeys, wild hens, nilgai were the few other animals we spotted during our trip. I tried to capture stills of every animal. For a better understanding to roam and visit each part of the sanctuary and get acquainted with each and every animal and bird that is kept in the sanctuary, we took a guide with us. The guide remained with us till the end of the journey and told us everything about the various animals, their origin, their eating habits, their lifestyle and their survival rate in the country. The tiger safari was equally awesome.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on June 18, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

