Mouthwatering and Delicious Foods of Guwahati

The beauty of Assam has always attracted me towards itself. Being a food lover and ardent lover the beauty of nature, I admire different cuisines of different states. Therefore as this time I was in Guwahati, Assam I decided to spare a day to gorge into the special cuisines of the state.

The food culture of every Indian state is different. May be that is the reason why everyone say that India is a diverse country with rich specifications. Guwahati is one of the fastest growing cities in the world and it has been getting a decent rise in the field of technology and industries. However the authentic food of the city and the state of Assam has not changed till. The roots of the culture of a city are found somewhere hidden the quality and kind of cuisines they eat.

The food of the city is characterized with the typical flavor of herbs and spices which are indigenous to its location. The staple food of Guwahati is khar-rice. As most of the other parts of the country the staple food of this north Indian state is also same. Fish is also eaten here which dragged me towards itself, as being a true and traditional Bengali by nature and heart, I always loved fishes.

The regional cuisine of the state is made with bhuna masala which means all the spices being mixed together and fried till it gets a golden brown color. The first dish that kick starts main course meals is akhar, and then finally ends up with the tenga which is a sour dish. I was lucky enough that I could locate a restaurant which served me the traditional food of the city. They usually serve their foods in a bell metal utensil.

The dishes of North India are majorly inspired by the Chinese, Mongolian and Burmese cuisines. Pitha is one of the favorable dishes of Guwahati which is more similar to that of dosa, popular in South India. As the cooking style of Assam involves less oil and less spice, the food is quite healthy and delicious to savor. I also tried lots of other dishes in the street side stalls. As I had the entire vacation with me, I h ad decided to try out several dishes during the coming days of my stay.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on May 1, 2014, in Foods and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

