Deer Park, Ranchi – A Natural Abode for the Herbivores

On the fifth day of our stay in Ranchi, all four of us decided to go to the deer park found here. The Deer Park of Ranchi is well known for the largest collection of deers and the immense flora that the park has. Located at a distance of 11 kilometers to the south-west region of Ranchi, the Birsa Deer Park is located quite close to Hatia. One would find hundreds of different species of deers here, all roaming in their natural habitat. The large species of deers found here can only be believed upon seeing it with own eyes. Until I visited the park myself, I didn’t believe that there were about 230 different species of these herbivores animals found here. During its initial days, there were about 15 species of deers found in the park, which increased slowly and have finally reached to a whooping number of 230.

Deer Park Ranchi

Deer Park Ranchi | Image Resource : mw2.google.com

The Birsa Deer Park is more or less like a fun place with large number of animals and lot of amusing activities are also done here. Tourists from all over the world and every corner of India visit the deer park which is an excellent place as a picnic spot as well. The different bridges, pathways, faux water bodies, flowers and few games like see-saw, swings etc are set up within the park to give a look of an amusement park. My children enjoyed a lot in the park as they played on swings and also went round the entire campus. They were really happy to discover such a huge variety of deers. The good maintenance is the reason why the number of tourists and visitors coming to this park is increasing every consecutive year.

The best part of the park is the Deer safari. A jeep or bus would take you round the entire park and you can see large number of deers roaming playfully in their natural habitat. You may also find few deers eating their food and few of them just sleeping. It is really nice to see these animals being quite comfortable with the humans as they do not run away by the sounds of the vehicle during safari. My day was wonderful and I had a happy time there.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on April 17, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

