Tagore Hill, Ranchi – The Splendor of Excellence

I was more than happy as I was traveling with my lovely wife and kids after a long time. Our entire family was together for a family outing after a long time. Therefore it was like visiting new places by being within the family itself. On the third day of our stay in Ranchi, I decided to take my family to the Tagore Hills. The Tagore Hills are also known as Moradabad Hills which is named after Rabindranath Tagore. Being a true Bengali, it was an utmost pleasure for all of us to find the great man of our state being esteemed all over the country. I was glad that we visited the Tagore Hills in Ranchi.

Tagore Hill Ranchi

Tagore Hill Ranchi | Image Resource : panoramio.com

The Tagore Hill is a 300 meter high hill which is dedicated to this great saint. However Rabindranath Tagor never lived in the hills nor did he ever visit Ranchi. It was his brother, Jyotindranath Tagore who was staying in the hills. The history of the Tagore family is preserved there in the hills. An ashram is located at the foothills of the hillock. Quite far from the hustle and bustle of the city, it is a perfect place to be in solitude. The sunrise and sunset views from this place is awesome and one can spend long hours together in this place. The Moradabad Hills are found in the laps of the Vindhya Hills and the beauty of the valley is beyond simple words.One can also enjoy the Koel View Point by being at the Netarhat. From Netarhat, which is just 3 kilometers away from the hills a good view of the Koel Rver can be taken. The river flows calmly and the serenity keeps the environment quite tranquilized.

Tagore Hill Ranchi

Tagore Hill Ranchi | Image Resource : panoramio.com

To visit the Tagore Hill one can take bus from the city center. The hills are found at a distance of 4 kilometers from the north of the city center. The history of the hills is pertained to the Tagore family, and therefore the name is derived from the same. The large numbers of books written by Rabindranath Tagore are highly applauded all over the world. At the foothills the presence of the Ramakrishna Mission Ashram makes the environment more cheerful and lively.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on March 25, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

