Jat Regimental Centre Bareilly – The Most Celebrated Regiment of India

The trip to the Jat Regimental Centre Bareilly seemed a letdown because there were restrictions for entry for civilians there. But I took pride in showing off the place to my kids albeit from outside. The Regiment has been the longest serving Regiment of India since 1795. Initially it served under the British Indian Empire between 1795 and 1947. Post Independence the Regiment has the line infantry of the army stationed at Bareilly. This Regiment had received various honors like the Victoria Crosses, Mahavir Chakras, and Ashok Chakras to name a few. All this information from the driver cum guide of ours filled us with a great sense of patriotism.

Jat Regimental Centre Bareilly

Jat Regimental Centre Bareilly | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

It is amazing how the details and achievements of the Indian Army made us hold our heads high in pride though we may not have interacted with any of the army personnel ever in our lives. I felt the same way and one look at Rahul conveyed the mutual feeling of his of respect and admiration for the Indian Army. This historic place was as if infectious and for a great while all of us remained silent feeling nothing but simply proud. The driver expanded that the motto of the Regiment has always been ‘Sangathan va Veera’ which meant Unity and Valor in English and the famous war cry of the army battalions had been ‘Jai Balwan, Jai Bhagwan’ which translated in English as their cry for God’s blessings before they would unleash their mighty army against the enemies. Rahul had been listening in an animated manner and I liked it.

As we returned to the hotel, I could not help but realize that the many sacrifices the Indian Army makes for us civilians is truly great. This is the reason why I wanted my children to feel the vibe of the place and know more about it. I made a mental note to quiz Rahul further in this matter because the way he was interacting with the driver, I felt he knew more than me about the Jat Regimental Centre Bareilly. The next day was Bareilly College for us and it would be fun too.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on March 7, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

