Dargah e Ala-Hazrat Bareilly – The Shrine of Imam Raza Khan

From the ‘different’ temple, we went to the Dargah e Ala-Hazrat Bareilly next in the same vehicle that we had booked with the hotel. The kids were getting a little restless because these places failed to impress them but as parents it was our duty to make our kids experience all the different religious faiths of our country so we continued with our plans despite all their protests. Rahul was the quiet one. He moved along with us mutely but the bored expression on his face gave away what he must be thinking. I was enjoying the company of my children and my wife because after a very long time we were travelling as a family with no distractions of work.

Dargah e Ala-Hazrat Bareilly

Dargah e Ala-Hazrat Bareilly | Image Resource : wikimapia.org

There was a lot of history involved with the place, our makeshift guide informed us. It was the shrine of Alahazrat Imam Raza Khan. The word ‘Ala Hazrat’ meant a great person and that indeed he was. The interior of the place was done in some shade of orange with arches around the Dargah in marble with scribes written in Urdu. The shrine is enclosed with metal bars and devotees could express their devotion by placing a ‘chadar’ of flowers over the shrine. The boy was very helpful in getting us the chadar because amidst the crowd, we were a little lost as to where we were to buy one. An intriguing sense of peace and tranquility was existent in this holy place and Muslims from various parts of the country offered their respects here to the Ala Hazrat.

Dargah e Ala-Hazrat

Dargah e Ala-Hazrat | Image Resource : googleapis.com

Once we left Dargah e Ala-Hazrat Bareilly, only then we realized that it was way past the lunch hours and we had to quickly figure out where to grab some food. The driver offered to take us to a local eatery but I declined because since the kids were a little cranky, the only way to pacify them was to take them to a place of their choice. Pizza Hut was where we went and I refrained from telling them that the next day we were to go to Jawala Mandir Bareilly.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on February 25, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

