Sanjay Gandhi Biological Park – A Garden of Natural Resources

It was the last and final day of the Patna Trip. I had a flight in the evening back to Kolkata, and till now I had already seen lots of places in the city of Patna. I loved traveling, and this time as I was traveling with my kids, my journey was more fulfilling and fun-filled. I reached to the final day of my journey so easily. On the last day, I planned to take my kids to the Sanjay Gandhi Botanical Park in the Bailey Road in Patna. I am a nature lover and very fond of flora and fauna, and so are my children. I thought it would be the best way to mark end to my historic journey with my kids. What a way to end the vacation!

Sanjay Gandhi Biological Park

Sanjay Gandhi Biological Park I Image Resource : indiantravels.com

The Sanjay Gandhi Botanical Park is also known as Sanjay Gandhi Jaivik Udyan or Sanjay Gandhi Zoological and Botanical Park. The park was built in the year 1973 and is perhaps the most visited place in Patna. Around 36,000 visitors visit this place on single day alone! Isn’t it hefty! The park is also a very good place for having picnics with friends and family. The park is an abode of more than 800 animals which are from 110 species. Few rare species and certain endangered species of animals are also seen this park. Animals like tiger, leopard, Indian rhinoceros, zebra, black buck, ghariyal, python, spotted deer, hippopotamus, giraffe and birds like peacock, emu, peafowl, hill mynah etc. are found here. Around 35 species of fish and 32 snakes are preserved in the park. Since the park is mostly known as a botanical garden, the main reason behind it is the 300 species of trees, shrubs and herbs found here. There is also one nursery which kept medicinal plants, rose garden, orchid house and fern house in it.

The zoo is acquiring different breeds of animals from other zoos in different parts of the country to increase breeding of new animals. This is a very good initiative. The day was over, and I and kids signed off for the day. Watch out this page, until I come back with another exciting travel experience…

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on January 28, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

