Golghar Patna – Magnificence in Architecture

Our days of vacation in Patna were filled with enjoyment. After a tiring day, my kids and I planned for some fun trips in Patna. This time my sole motive was to have some fun-filled experience with my kids. I took a cab from our hotel in the afternoon and decided to go on a trip to Gol Ghar in Patna. This is a magnificent architecture built in the shape of a cocoon or a bee hive. The bee hive shape of the building adds an extra charm and attracts large number of people to visiting it. The building is believed to have been built in the year 1786 by Captain John Garstin. The base of the building has a width of 125 meters and the walls are about 3.6 meters thick. The entire building is inspired from the stupa architecture and is built in a spiral form. From the top of the building, an entire view of the Ganga can be made by climbing just about 145 steps.

Golghar Patna

Golghar Patna I Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The architecture is believed to resemble a store house or a barn. The spatial and spiral arrangement made inside the building is built in order to aid the laborers carry their grain bags to the top with ease. The entire structure of the Gol Ghar is built in such a way that it would never occupy fully. Every time you would want to fill the entire of Gol Ghar, you will not be successful. It is built in such a manner that it is never been able to fill to its optimum capacity. This is perhaps a trivia in the construction of the building. The doors inside the building are fitted in such a way that they would always open to the inside, and as such if the building is wholly occupied the doors would never open.

Golghar Patna

Golghar Patna I Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Along with the children I had a fun-filled experience in the Gol Ghar as the place is much interesting for young children and fun lovers. More or less the place was a very good time pass after a hectic and tiring day in sun.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on January 25, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

