Harmandir Sahib Patna – A Synopsis

In the latter half of the fourth day, I decided to go to the Harmandir Sahib Gurudwara in Patna. As I was out in a family vacation with my two kids, I was making sure that they are not exhausted in the travel. After spending a great time in the Iskcon temple in Patna, we sat in the taxi and it drove us towards the Harmandir Sahib Gurudwara. The very place is known to be the birth place of Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji, who was born in the year 1666 on the 22nd of December. The place is believed to be the place where Guru Nanak visited before leaving for the Gaya. This Gurudwara was built by Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

Harmandir Sahib Patna

Harmandir Sahib Patna I Image Resource : panoramio.com

The place of the Harmandir was originally believed to be a ‘Haveli’ of Salis Rai John. Salis Rai John was known to be a great devotee of Guru Nanak. He converted his magnificent house into a ‘Dharmashala’ and dedicated it to Guru Nanak. I could find some relics of Guru Nanak preserved in the shrine for the visitors. A cradle with four stands covered with golden plates is known to be one of the relics of Guru Nanak, which is still preserved in the shrine. Pair of sandals, four iron arrows and the sacred sword is also preserved in the Harmandir Sahib. The sanctum sanctorum consists of the room where Guru Govind Singh was born and has a circumambulatory passage surrounding it. There is a high-ceiling congregation hall beside this room which has arched doors. The entire hall is covered with copper plates and embossed with floral patterns and marble sculptures in the interior walls. I could also see three canopied seats, where on the central one Guru Granth Sahib is seated. Dasam Granth is also placed in one of the seats.

My time spent with family in the Harmandir Sahib was definitely educational and awe-inspiring one. My heart was filled with joy and satisfaction after visiting the pious place. I clicked some very good pictures to show them to my wife. I am sure my kids also liked them.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on January 18, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

