Litti Chokha at Patna – A Local Delicacy to Sweep You off Your Feet

This was my second day in Patna and I was in high spirits for we had quite a few interesting places to visit. During my stay in Bihar, I gorged on a few local food stuffs of the state that satiated not only my taste buds, but also my heart. Being a lover of fitness who follows a strict exercise regime every day, even I was amazed to discover this child-like part of me. I had heard about this unassuming dish Litti Chokha from Bihar which had taken storm from some recent news of some celebrity going to the street side stalls and having them. The images of the dish were already in my mind when I decided to travel to Patna with kids. There are over hundreds of well-to-do restaurants in the city and even where I was staying there were a few multi-cuisine restaurants, but that day I had made up my mind to try out fast food in the street side joints. So as soon as I started with the first day of city ride, I decided to try the certain Litti Chokha of the state Bihar.

Litti Chokha at Patna

Litti Chokha at Patna I Image Resource : walkthroughindia.com

The local food is known to be the face of Bihar, as the taste and fragrance of the foods leaves every passer-by in the mood to try it at least once. The Litti is somewhat similar to Batti with a slight difference in the making style and taste. The stuffing which is usually known as Pitthi to be filled in the Litti is made with Sattu and the Chokha is made of brinjal or mashed potatoes. More or less like the traditional ‘Pav Bhaji’ of few other states, Litti Chokha has its own sense of taste.

It is really amazing to see large numbers of well-to-do and rich families’ bingeing on these street foods. The food is not just tiffin, but a meal that can be consumed anytime. Litti Chokha can be a part of a good snack or a full portion in the regular meals. My eating experience at the street shops was really awesome and taste satiating, while I forgot about the hygiene factor.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on January 6, 2014, in Foods, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

