Buddha Memorial Park Patna – A Dwelling Place of Lord Buddha

It was the third day of my stay in Bihar and I had already visited the Bodhi tree in Patna earlier on the same day. The second half of the day was again dedicated to Lord Buddha. I along with my kids decided to explore a few more places of Buddhist interest. I decided to take them to a ride into the Buddha Memorial Park in Patna, which is often known as Buddha Smriti Park in the local language. The Buddha Memorial Park is located in the Frazaer Road near the Patna Junction. I booked an air-conditioned cab as the mercury level was rising and we badly wanted some cool air. As soon as we reached the park, we got down from the cab and headed towards it in order to discover more about the place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The park was inaugurated by Dalai Lama and it is believed to have been developed by the State Government to immortalize 2554th birth anniversary of Lord Buddha. The memorial park is built in an open space and there are stupas built all around it. There is a very nice pictorial representation of the spreading of Buddhism from Bihar to other parts of the world. There are ambulatory parks around the stupa made for walking or ‘parikrama’.

The relics of the monastery are kept within the secured glass structure of the stupa which is accessible for viewing. There is also one meditation center developed uniquely to provide the facility of meditation, whose idea has been derived from the monasteries of the ancient Mahavihara and Nalanda. I could see a total of 60 air-conditioned cells containing the relics of Sakyamuni Buddha. This large hall is so designed to give relaxation to the people visiting it. There is a library within the hall which contains different books on Buddhism and ideas of the same. The park also has saplings of Bodhi trees planted there, which is compulsory in almost every Buddhist monastery. Walking around I felt the air at the place filled with spirituality.

I had a pleasurable day out with my kids and the day was fulfilling.

About Debanjan Basu

Hey this is Debanjan Basu. My friends call me “Debhu”. I'm a 45 year old businessman from Kolkata. Married and have two lovely Kids. I know that i am getting old but i believe that as I'm growing older, i am get more and more adventurous. I love Going to trips especially family vacations. Despite of my busy schedule, I always make it a point that i spend time with my wife and kids. I have been to almost every places around West Bengal as well as other states. With this blog of mine, I'm determined to help those married men like me who love hanging out with their family by sharing my travel experience.

Posted on January 3, 2014, in Attractions, Tourism, Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

